Art for Art’s Sake

During the week I caught up with a dear friend for lunch and then a wander through the Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (QAG and GOMA) followed by a brief visit to the Art Gallery. While I am not an art aficionado, I do enjoy art galleries. Whether it is to just wander through, exploring what is there or taking a guided tour which can be so informative.

We started with a lovely lunch, including a glass of wine, at GoMA overlooking the Brisbane River on a warm Brisbane Summer day. Then off to explore the gallery. It was school holidays so the place was a buzz with little people everywhere. For me, that added to the joy. The children enjoyed themselves, taking in the different installations as well the ‘hands on’ experience of creating wonderful things including the white Lego. It is GoMA’s 10th anniversary celebration with the amazing Sugar Spin: You, Me, Art and Everything exhibition which features over 250 contemporary artworks. We wondered about the thought processes that created some of the exhibits and installations. My friend reminded me that what we see on display comes after much planning and a long process, and of course, the inevitable ‘failures’. We only see the successes. As it should be.

A sample of the Sugar Spin installations currently at GoMA.

Art can have a profound affect on people. My spirit is always lifted by the genius that surrounds me. I am always in awe of people who can create beautiful things. Beauty, of course is subjective and definitely in the eye of the beholder. For me, though, it is important to visit galleries including those of modern art. We can become stinted in our world view, when not challenged by the unusual. We may not always ‘like’ what we see in the modern galleries but we need to be exposed to it. Especially children, before they have too much information about what is considered normal or right or good art. Children have that advantage. Minds not clogged with preconceived ideas.

I like to visit all types of art galleries. I have visited some famous galleries such as the Louvre and Prado which house some amazing artworks. Our National Gallery of Australia (NGA) located in Canberra has some great exhibitions. Currently on show is Versailles: Treasures from the Palace which I hope to see before it ends in April 2017. We visited the Palace of Versailles last year but I am sure there will be some ‘real treasures’ at the NGA. If you would like to find out more, see NGA. The Tweed Regional Gallery is fabulous, too, especially since they have recreated the home of the late artist, Margaret Olley. For further information, visit Tweed Regional Gallery. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

So, for me, I like to think that art and the galleries, affect my thinking and hopefully, push my boundaries. By immersing myself in these artworks, surrounded by the end results of people’s thoughts and talents, that just maybe, some of that will rub off on me.  While I may not understand it all, Art for Art’s Sake is what truly matters.

What is your favourite gallery? What does Art for Art’s Sake mean to you? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Art for Art’s Sake

Leave a Reply

