Another Year Over

Well, here we are on the cusp of another new year. I am left wondering what happened to 2016. I am sure we were only celebrating Christmas 2015 and now Christmas 2016 has passed.  New Year’s Eve is here!! It feels as though the older I get the faster the years pass. Looking back on 2016, it has been filled mostly with good times. I have been fortunate to spend time with my children and grandchildren. Times which I cherish. The grandkids are growing up so fast! If only we could keep them little for longer. But, alas, that is not how life works. On the other side, it is great to see them grow up, healthy and happy even though all of them have been through some difficult times in one way or another. Mostly, children are resilient.

When I was young I always envied those “perfect” families. Mum, Dad and the happy, smiling kids. My family was less than perfect. Dysfunctional, you could say. Through the years, though, I have found that most of the “perfect” families were not so perfect afterall. They were just better at hiding their problems. My family’s problems were a little more visible.

On another note, this year I haven’t been able to spend as much time with dear friends as I would have liked. I might be retired, but there are not enough hours in the day to accomplish all that I want to do.  My hope and plan is to rectify that in 2017 and spend more time with friends who are dear to me. For those friends that read my blog, take note. I will be in touch … soon.

I didn’t get to travel as much in 2016 as I would have liked. However, a week in Hong Kong and Macau in April both satisfied and whetted my appetite for travel.

Macau

Hong Kong

My family is at the Sunshine Coast (just north of Brisbane, Queensland) to see in the New Year. We will be having some rest and relaxation at the beach and beside the pool for two weeks. Can’t wait!

As 2016 comes to an end, I wish you all a Happy and Prosperous New Year. One filled with Joy and Hope for a Brighter Future.

Let me know in the Comments Section how you will bring in the New Year. See you in 2017!

4 thoughts on “Another Year Over

Leave a Reply

